Vegetarian Community

Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: Vegan/vegetarian beer, wine, and liquor


Veteran Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 94
Date:
Vegan/vegetarian beer, wine, and liquor
Permalink  
 


Did you know...

...that beer, wine, and liquor often contains nonvegetarian or nonvegan ingredients?

If you like a beer, glass of wine, or ****tail once in awhile (and you are old enough!), check out this website for information on different brands. I found out a few months ago that my favorite wine is produced using casein, a milk product. :(

Barnivore



__________________


Senior Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 446
Date:
Permalink  
 

That is just weird that a wine or a beer would have animal products in them.
I mean when I think wine all I think is mainly grapes.

__________________

You can call me Thorn - I am a Moderator in Vegetarian Discussions and New To Vegetarianism. Feel free to message me personally :)



Veteran Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 82
Date:
Permalink  
 


Yep , i totaly agree with Thorn !

I mean if wine has animal products in them it's just a mistake in the production chain ...
And I read an article about beer production : it's only made with a cereal : barley (malt ) , water, yeast , hops (which is a plant) .

Sometimes they add honey , orange ,spices , sugar and other fruits and cereals but that's it ! Honestly !


Although ,I won't be surprised if some smoothies or sodas contained tracks of milk .


And even if your drink contains some derivatives of meat I reckon It would be in reaaally tiny tiny proportions !



-- Edited by Sarah on Thursday 21st of July 2011 09:31:04 AM

__________________

* Sarah *

Moderator on Animal Rights and Welfare & the Entertainment rubric

Inbox me if you need anything



Veteran Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 94
Date:
Permalink  
 

In wine, dairy products, isinglass (fish bladder), and crustaceans are used in the fining process--where they get the particles to settle.
Beer manufacturers also use isinglass in the fining process.

If you want to know if your favorite beer or wine has these products, go to barnivore.com or contact the manufacturer.

Isinglass (play /ˈaɪzɪŋɡlæs/ or /ˈaɪzɪŋɡlɑːs/) is a substance obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish. It is a form of collagen used mainly for the clarification of wine and beer. It can also be cooked into a paste for specialized gluing purposes.

__________________


Senior Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 446
Date:
Permalink  
 

That's just weird.
It's like who thought of that to make a drink with?

__________________

You can call me Thorn - I am a Moderator in Vegetarian Discussions and New To Vegetarianism. Feel free to message me personally :)

Page 1 of 1  sorted by
 
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us


Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard